Peru

I just got back from a week traveling on the Amazon River in Peru! I went with a group of 70 dental, physical therapy, and occupational therapy students and practitioners from Augusta. Each day we stopped at a new village and set up a clinic. I could tell so many stories about how God proved his faithfulness to me and the whole team last week, but for now I’m just going to post a few pictures.

God reminded me of and taught me a lot of things last week. Its hard to think about it all and process it, but if I had to pick one verse to describe the trip and what I learned, this is it:

And they sang a new song:
“You are worthy to take the scroll
and to open its seals,
because you were slain,
and with your blood you purchased men for God
from every tribe and language and people and nation.
You have made them to be a kingdom and priests to serve our God,
and they will reign on the earth.”
Revelations 5:9-10

This man was SO excited about his walker and that he could be more independent with it. He told is that his favorite Bible verse was John 14:6 

I didn’t get to play with kids very much, but after clinic one day I stayed around to hang out with them. They are precious and need so much love. I wish I could have spoken to them in Spanish, but I think smiling said enough =) 

We prayed with each patient after treating them. This woman was a Christian, and my favorite memory on the trip is with her. We were sitting together waiting for a translator and she said something to a lady standing near by. I heard her call the woman “hermana,” and I asked if she was her sister. She said “in Christo!” I smile and said ME TOO! It was so neat for us to both realize at the same time that we were sisters in Christ. 

There is something awesome about knowing that even though your lives are 100% different and you have NOTHING else in common, you do have Jesus, who is the most important thing, in common.


Our PT team!!! I had a really great time with these people =)
About middlemclees

I love peach salsa, Clemson football, running, the sky, and laughing!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

