Pastor Robertson said something in church last night that I really liked. He was talking about a Christian man who was so poor that one night he did not have a place to stay or food to eat. He wasn’t worried, however, because he knew that God had promised to meet all his needs. A friend found out about his condition and asked him why, in the midst of such need, he was still confident that God would provide. The man said this: “God promised to give me whatever I need. If I need a meal, he will give me a meal. If I need to starve, he will be faithful and give me a starving.”

A “faithful starving.” That’s something I have never really thought about before, but it is very true. I have been longing so much for the way things used to be lately. I miss my friends, my life style, my relationships, my community, my church…I miss everything about the last four years of my life. And I often find myself wondering why God hasn’t provided. Why hasn’t he provided me more close friends here in Augusta? Why hasn’t he provided me the comfort I felt in Clemson? Why hasn’t he provided a dating relationship? Why hasn’t he provided the community I was so blessed by? All of things are good, they are so wonderful and I miss them. But maybe I shouldn’t be asking why he hasn’t provided, and instead trust that what he IS providing is what I need. Maybe I need a faithful starving. I don’t know why, and I don’t have to like it, but I do have to rejoice. Always. And I can rejoice because I know he is giving me what I need.

And in all reality, he really has given me WAY more than I deserve here in Augusta. I have nothing at all to complain about, and I have everything in the world to be thankful for! The problem is that I keep comparing those things to perfection; I am expecting this life to be what only glorification will be, so of course I feel like its not enough. One day, some day, God WILL make all things right, but not in this life. I have GOT to change my expectations and start to remember that only in glory will all things be made right. I will always long for more in this life because this world is not able, ever, to satisfy me. But Jesus can.

For now I only need to trust him and obey him. I don’t know what he is doing in my life right now, but he does, and he will not stop working in me until he is finished. That is something else Pastor Robertson talked about – that God is NOT finished yet!!! I am not perfect, no where near perfect, but I have hope because God as PROMISED to finish what he started!

“Therefore we DO NOT LOSE HEART. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” 2 Corinthians 4:16-18

“May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul, and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. The one who promised is faithful, and he will do it.” 1 Thes. 5:23-24

About middlemclees

I love peach salsa, Clemson football, running, the sky, and laughing!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. hey girl.This is so true. We are not yet finished. Nor are we home. I feel the same thing that you do but I am still living in my comfortable city…so remember that it doesn't matter where you are…you are not home and we will always be lonely until we meet with our Father at the wedding banquet. I love you and I am praying for you.

Leave a Reply

