I talked to my grandparents (Ghee and Gheedad) on the phone yesterday. I haven’t called them in a really long time, and I’m really thankful that I did! They are getting older and its hard to watch them deal with the limits of their age, but they sounded like they were doing really well. Gheedad is one of my heros; I want to be like him. He has overcome a lot in his life and has influenced many, many people. He’s made a big difference in the world.

He used to be a coach, and last night on the phone he did a little coaching to me. I told him that school was pretty hard right now, and he told me that he new I could and would make it through. “You know there is only one thing that can stop you, right? The only thing that can stop you is you.” Thats what he told me, and its exactly what I needed to hear!

Ghee is also really awesome. She’s always coming up with something new to do or say. We used to do huge jigsaw puzzles together when I was younger. It was so much fun! We had a song that we would sing when we’d get to a hard place in the puzzle and were tempted to quit trying. It’s from and old 1930’s movie and goes like this: “Shipmates stand together! Don’t give up the ship! Fair or stormy weather, we won’t give up, we won’t give up, we won’t give up the ship!” We never left a single puzzle unfinished =) Ghee told me last night not to give up on the school ship just yet =)

About middlemclees

I love peach salsa, Clemson football, running, the sky, and laughing!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

