“He taught us to work but never to worry; to do gladly whatever we are given to do, and to leave all else with God. Purity of heart is to will one thing…I know of no greater simplifier for all of life…as I accept my given portion, other options are canceled. Decisions become easier, directions clearer, and hence my heart becomes inexpressibly quieter.” Elisabeth Eliott

I like this quote because I tend to do the opposite of what it says and therefore my heart is NOT quiet. I work and I worry about my work: Did I do enough? Did I do it right? What if its wrong? I complain about what I am given to do: Its not what I wanted, it doesn’t seem important, I don’t see immediate rewards.

My heart isn’t quiet. It is restless and I always feel as though I am not doing enough, or I am not doing it right. I can’t rest in Jesus because I’m worried about what/how I am doing. This isn’t how it is supposed to be. I am supposed to listen to him, trust him, and obey him. That’s all.

If I would simply accept my given portion, gladly, and focus on doing it well and doing it for Jesus, then all the distractions and complaints would not seem so big. I would be able to focus on obeying God and making him known through the work he created me for.

About middlemclees

I love peach salsa, Clemson football, running, the sky, and laughing!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

